Mr. William "Bill" Saunders, Founder

Mrs. Sarah D. Williams

Mr. Lawrence J. Huger

Mr. James Heyward

Attorney Sean Wilson

Attorney Deon Tedder

Reverend Albertha H. Cook

Dr. Barbara D. Dilligard, Consultant

Former Rep. David J. Mack, III

COBRA Board of Directors

Meet COBRA's Founder and CEO

​William "Bill" Saunders

A visionary in the human/civil rights movement, Bill Saunders started COBRA, the Committee on Better Racial Assurance in 1970.  For many years he and many colleagues raised the conscientiousness of the Charleston community in particular and legislators in the state to address the inequities between the races.  After successfully lobbying for the rights of hospital workers, the minimum wage legislation passed in South Carolina.

Continuing his commitment to racial equality and access to all benefits for all people, Bill turned his attention to the forgotten but much needed services for individuals and families with Sickle Cell Anemia.  The COBRA Sickle Cell Program was born under his leadership, in collaboration with Trident United Way.  

His involvement in radio broadcast provided an excellent forum to educate the  community on Sickle Cell Disease as well as the issues of the day. 

Rev. Albertha H. Cook has served as Executive Director for COBRA Sickle Cell Program for more than 35 years.  A former high school Biology teacher and Science Department Chairperson, Rev. Cook 's interest in the biological sciences led her to further study attending federal government sponsored training in bio-instrumentation.  Earning a Master's Degree in Biological Education from University of South Carolina, she became interested in the Sickle Cell Disease and pursued and received a Master Degree in Public Health from the University of California at Berkeley. 

She continues to administer the COBRA Sickle Cell Program maintaining and exploring funding sources to help individuals and families with Sickle Cell Disease.

Rev. Albertha H. Cook

Meet our Executive Director

Undergirded By:

​Resource Medical Specialist

Subsidiary Members

Patient Advocate

Service Staff